Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)Ow, my brain. Is Obliviate a real thing yet?
Can I have back the two hours it took to read this book?

I didn’t bother to flip through the pages before taking the book home, so I didn’t realize it was written in play format, not novel format. Well, OK, I don’t mind reading plays when I have a clear mental image of how things should look and sound, and after watching some of the movies I can visualize Hogwarts & students pretty well.

The writing was a step above terrible. The scene cuts were amateurish. There’s a way that plays are supposed to split scenes, and this isn’t it. You don’t include important info in the offscreen scene cut and telling who is walking onstage.

The Time-Turner is used in a way that makes even less sense than the original book.
Finding out who the Big Bad Monster was turned out to be…. not the big surprise it was meant to be.
The characters were dumb and dumber.
However I made it to the end, so I’ll give this book 2 stars not 1.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

